Treats All Around: The Bernard Herrmann Blogathon Begins!!

Happy Halloweekend and Welcome one and all to The Bernard Herrmann Blogathon!

Are you ready to embark on this weekend full of spellbinding mystery and musical delights? I know I am!

Bernard Herrmann needs no introduction. His music is the very definition of the word iconic. From a barbaric shower scene, to ghostly cottages, to an eerie alien invasion, he did it all. And with a completely new musical landscape that nailed the setting every time.

A complex man who was known for his abrupt manner but had a sensitive side as well, he excelled at and pioneered the art of conveying psychology through music.

His powerful music is imprinted on some of the most beloved classic films and his influence is never-ending, reaching into the hearts and minds of composers and movie lovers today.

I admire Herrmann tremendously and am so pleased and honored to be honoring him with my very first blogathon.

So without further ado, thank you for joining us in this celebration! I hope you find a “new” film or two…Because one can never have too much Herrmann 😉

Check back to this post often as I will be updating as the blogathon rolls on!

Bloggers, thank you for making this a special event by lending your time and talent! I can’t wait to read your thoughts!

Please leave me a comment below when you are ready to unveil your compositions. I will add them to the programme as soon as I can!

The Programme

The Classic Movie Muse | Visiting the Maestro: The Final Resting Place of Bernard Herrmann in Elmont, New York

Realweegiemidget Reviews |  Marnie (1964)

I Found It At the Movies |  North by Northwest (1959)

Silver Screenings | 5 Fingers (1952)

Nitrateglow | On Dangerous Ground (1951)

Hamlette’s Soliloquy | Jane Eyre (1943)

Classic For a Reason |  Vertigo (1958)

Caftan Woman |  Jason and the Argonauts (1963)

A Full Rich Blather | The Trouble with Harry (1955)

Taking Up Room | The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)

Coffee, Classics, and Craziness | Top 5 Favorite Herrmann Soundtracks

Journeys in Classic Film | The Wrong Man (1956)

Diary of a Movie Maniac | Hangover Square (1945)

Magic Time | The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956)

Critica Retro | The Devil and Daniel Webster (1941)

The Classic Film Connection | Psycho (1960)

Second Sight Cinema | Citizen Kane (1941)

The Flapper Dame | Garden of Evil (1954)

18 Cinema Lane | The Trap (1959)

You May Also Like

22 Comments

  1. Such a cool choice for your first blogathon! My review of Herrmann’s Jane Eyre (1943) score is up right here this morning 🙂

    1. Thank you, Rachel!! 🙂

  2. Here’s the link to my contribution: https://classicforareason.com/2021/10/29/vertigo/
    Thanks for inviting me to participate!

    1. Thank you, Belinda!! 🙂

  3. Here is the link for my contribution to the Blogathon: https://fullrichblather.com/2021/10/29/theres-no-trouble-with-the-trouble-with-harry/

    Thank you again for the opportunity to join in on the Bernard Herrmann fun! The posts have been great!

    1. Thanks so much!! 🙂 So glad you were able to join us, Benjaminawink. I couldn’t agree more with that sentiment, they have been stellar!

    1. Thank you, Rebecca!! 🙂 Yes, they have been fabulous so far!

  4. Here’s my contribution! https://classicsandcraziness.wordpress.com/2021/10/30/the-bernard-herrmann-blogathon-my-top-five-favorite-bernard-herrmann-film-scores/

    I had SUCH fun writing the post, and I’m looking forward to reading the other contributions as well. Thanks so much for hosting this blogathon and highlighting such an amazing composer!

    1. Thank you, Eva!! 🙂 The posts have been great! So glad you had fun. Herrmann deserves all the appreciation and focus we can give him!

  5. Hi! Thank you so much again for arranging this! Here is the link to my entry: https://celluloiddame.com/2021/10/30/herrmann-and-hitchcock-storm-clouds-and-cymbals/

    Super excited to read all the entries!

    1. Hi, Celluloid Dame! The pleasure is all mine 🙂 Thank you!!

      Yay, enjoy! You have some fine reading ahead!

  6. Here’s my link!: https://classicfilmconnection.wordpress.com/2021/10/31/psycho-bernard-hermann-and-me/

    Thank you again for inviting me to participate. I feel like an official blogger now! 🙂 (And I’m not sure I would have heard of this if you handn’t reached out.)

    Thanks also for introducing me to Bernard Hermann’s work (he really was a genius!) – and for graciously allowing me to change my original topic. I had a lot of fun with this, even though it grew into a monster with a life of its own. 😉 I hope it was worth the wait. 🙂

    Please let me know if there’s any other blogger-y things I need to do in regard linking and all that. (I tried – using your blogathon entries as examples – but I’m still a newbie.)

    Thanks again. <3 Happy Halloween – and happy reading! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Jillian!! 🙂 Congrats on participating in your first blogathon, I hope it’s a great experience for you!!

      Oh my, the pleasure is all mine! I absolutely love Herrmann’s work and philosophies and relish the opportunity to spread appreciation of him.

      I’m glad you had fun! Your post looks great, nice job! 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading it in more detail.

      Thank you again for joining us! I know it can be overwhelming when doing these things for the first time so I appreciate your gumption 🙂

      Happy Halloween ❤ Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      1. Thanks – and congratulations to you on your first hosting! 🙂 I’m sure THAT’S overwhelming. But you did a fantastic job, and it seems to have been a very successful venture! 🙂

        1. Thank you! ❤ That’s so sweet of you, Jillian 🙂 I had so much fun that I am already cooking up my next one 😉

    1. Thanks so much, Emily!! 🙂 Something of interest, Herrmann did score another Western film that I’m aware of – The Kentuckian (1955) starring and directed by Burt Lancaster.

      He really was versatile, wasn’t he?

Leave a Reply